APPG for Africa


The APPG for Africa held its last AGM on the 21st of March 2023. The AGM saw the election of the APPG’s officers by the members and the agreement on thematic focus areas for the year ahead. 


The incumbent elected Officers for the APPG for Africa are listed below:


Chi Onwurah MP


Co-Chair from the House of Lords              
Lord Jonny Oates


Hon. President

Lord Paul Boateng


Harriett Baldwin MP

Lyn Brown MP

Theo Clarke MP

Patrick Grady MP

Kim Johnson MP

Lord Jack McConnell

Baroness Lindsay Northover

Kate Osamor MP

Baroness Manzila Uddin

Lord Popat

Taiwo Owatemi MP

Gary Sandbrook MP



2021 Parliamentary Committee of Inquiry (Africa and its diaspora in UK school curricula)


Lord Boateng (Committee Chair)

Bim Afolami MP

Lord David Chidgey

Helen Hayes MP

Baroness Gloria Hooper

Anne McLaughlin MP

Baroness Meral Hussein-Ece

Chi Onwurah MP

Baroness Manzila Uddin